Custom Search

The Bear
Cool Facts
Bear News
More Sources
Privacy Policy

Bear Information

The bear is a mammal in the order Carnivora. Bears are widespread all around the world. The live in a variety of habitats and are found in North America, South America, Europe, and Asia. There are eight bear species in the world: Andean bear, American black bear, Asiatic black bear, Brown bear, Giant Panda, Polar bear, Sloth bear and Sun bear. Bears have large bodies, strong legs, a long snout, strong claws, thick fur and short tail. The largest bear is the polar bear. Adult polar bears can weigh up to 1,500 pounds. The sun bear is the smallest member of the bear family, weighing up to 100 pounds.


For information about other animals, visit Animal Learning Zone