Custom Search

The Hyena
Cool Facts
More Sources
Privacy Policy

Hyena Information

Hyenas belong to order Carnivora, suborder Feliforma, and family Hyaenidae. The Hyaenidae family include the Aardwolf (Proteles cristatus), Brown Hyena (Parahyaena brunnea), Spotted Hyena (Crocuta crocuta), and Striped Hyena (Hyaena hyaena). Hyenas live in Africa, south of the Sahara Desert, and in parts of the Middle East and Asia. Their habitat includes savannas, grasslands, woodlands, forest edges, subdeserts and mountains.

Hyenas play an important role in the ecosystem and are extremely fascinating animals.

For information about other animals, visit Animal Learning Zone