Custom Search

The Kangaroo
Cool Facts
More Sources
Privacy Policy

Kangaroo Information

Kangaroos are big-footed marsupials. They are grouped into two families: the Macropodidae (kangaroos, wallabies, wallaroos, pademelons, tree kangaroos and forest wallabies) and the Potoroidae (rat kangaroos, potoroos and bettongs).

Most kangaroo species are found only in Australia. There are also some species found in Papua New Guinea. The smallest kangaroo is the musky rat kangaroo which is about the size of a rabbit. The largest kangaroo is the red kangaroo which is 1.6 m tall and weighs about 60 kg. The kangaroo fur can be blue, grey, red, black, yellow or brown, depending on the species.

For information about other animals, visit Animal Learning Zone