The Ladybug
Cool Facts
More Sources
Privacy Policy

Ladybug Information

Ladybugs are small beetles, belonging to family Coccinellidae. There are about 5,000 different species of ladybugs in the world. More than 450 species are native to North America. Ladybugs have oval shaped bodies (colored in yellow, pink, orange, red, black), marked with distinct spots. Ladybugs have six black legs, two pairs of wings, and two antennae. Their size can range from 1 to 10 mm. Male ladybugs are usually smaller than females. Ladybugs are considered useful insects because they eat aphids, which are pests in gardens.


Visit Animal Learning Zone for information about other animals