Custom Search

The Leopard
Cool Facts
More Sources
Privacy Policy

Leopard Information

The leopard (Panthera pardus) is a member of the Felidae family. It is the smallest of the 4 "big cats", along the tiger, lion, and jaguar. It can be found in sub-Saharan Africa and west of the Kalahari Desert, in the Middle East and Asia.

There are many leopard sub-species. Some of the most common are: Amur leopard, Indian leopard, North Chinese leopard, Sri Lankan leopard, Persian leopard, Arabian leopard, Indochinese leopard, African leopard. The adult leopard can reach lengths of 3.4 to 6.6 feet and can weigh from 65 to 155 lb. Females are usually smaller. The leopard has spotted coat and its colors vary from light brown to a deep rusty yellow.

For information about other animals, visit Animal Learning Zone