Custom Search

The Puffin
Cool Facts
More Sources
Privacy Policy

Puffin Information

Puffins are sea birds in the bird genus Fratercula. They nest along the coastlines of Iceland, Norway, Russia, Western France, British Isles and Greenland. There are three puffin types in the world: Atlantic Puffin (Fratercula arctica), Horned Puffin (Fratercula corniculata), and Tufted Puffin (Fratercula cirrhata). Puffins are usually 10 inches tall and weigh about 1.4 pounds. These birds are similar in shape and color to penguins. Puffins have waterproof feathers and webbed feet. They also have a flattened, brightly-coloured bill.

For information about other animals, visit Animal Learning Zone