Custom Search

The Rhino
Cool Facts
More Sources
Privacy Policy

Rhinoceros Information

Rhinoceros are animals with massive bodies, stumpy legs and one or two horns. There are five species of rhinoceros. Two species are African: White Rhinoceros (Ceratotherium simum) and Black Rhinoceros (Diceros bicornis); and three are from Southern Asia: Sumatran (Dicerorhinus sumatrensis), Indian (Rhinoceros unicornis) and Javan (Dicerorhinus sondaicus). The world rhino population has declined and all five species are endangered.

The word "rhinoceros" is derived from the Greek words "rhino" (nose), and kera (horn); hence "horned-nose".

For information about other animals, visit Animal Learning Zone