Custom Search

The Sea Lion
Cool Facts
Sea Lion News
More Sources
Privacy Policy

Sea Lion Information

Sea lions are marine mammals belonging to the order Pinnepedia and the family Otariidae. Sea lions are easily identified by their external ears, while seals show no external ears. These marine mammals have a thick layer of blubber to keep them warm in the water. There are five sea lion species in the world: the California sea lion (Zalophus californianus), the Steller sea lion (Eumetopias jubatus), the South American sea lion (Otaria flavescens), the Australian sea lion (Neophoca cinerea) and the New Zealand sea lion (Phocarctos hookeri). Sea lion males are several times larger than females. The Steller sea lion is the largest of the species, with males weighing up to 3,000 pounds.

For information about other animals, visit Animal Learning Zone