Custom Search

The Sloth
Cool Facts
More Sources
Privacy Policy

Sloth Information

The sloth is the world's slowest mammal and is found in Central and South America. Sloths are identified by the number of toes they have on their hind feet. There are two sloth types: the three-toed sloth (Bradypus) and the two-toed sloth (Choloepus). Both have long and proeminent claws. These claws are used for climbing, because sloths are arboreal animals. They eat, sleep, mate and give birth in the trees. Because of their upside down life, sloths have many of their internal organs in different positions from other mammals.

For information about other animals, visit Animal Learning Zone