Custom Search

The Swan
Cool Facts
More Sources
Privacy Policy

Swan Information

Swans are large water birds of the family Anatidae. This family also includes geese and ducks. Swans inhabit wetlands and lands surrounded by water. There are seven species of swans in the world: black, black necked, coscoroba, mute, tundra, trumpeter, and whooper swan. Three swan species live in North America: trumpeter, mute, and tundra swan. The black swan lives in Australia, while the black necked swan is native to South America. The plumage of adult swans is white; with two exceptions: the black necked and the black swan. Male swans are larger than females. The trumpeter swan is the largest swan in the world, weighing 25-35 pounds. The coscoroba swan is the smallest species of swan, weighing 9 pounds. Because of their beauty, swans have inspired art, music, literature and dance.

For information about animals other than swans, visit Animal Learning Zone