Custom Search

The Whale
Cool Facts
Whale News
More Sources
Privacy Policy

Whale Information

Whales are large aquatic mammals, belonging to the order Cetacea. This order includes whales, dolphins and porpoises. Whales are found in all oceans of the world. These animals breathe air, but spend all their life in the water. So they must come to the surface to get oxygen. Whales have a streamlined body adapted for swimming. They also have a thick layer of fat under their skin. This layer provides insulation and serves as a source of stored energy. Whales can be classified in 2 basic suborders: baleen whales and toothed whales. Baleen whales have no teeth; they have baleen plates and two blowholes. Toothed whales have teeth, one blowhole and are usually smaller than baleen whales.

For information about other animals, visit Animal Learning Zone